GCSE 9-1 New syllabus

User Rating:  / 0

New education policies by Ofsted have dictated changes to the whole of the education maths syllabus. Amongst other things, the changes require the old letter grading system to be replaced with a new 9-1 system.

What does this mean?

Well the system isn't directly replaceable, meaning that an A* doesn't necessarily mean grade 9, the two grading calls are offset. Loosely speaking, a C grade becomes a grade 5. So from now on, a grade 5 in maths will be the benchmark that employers and students alike will look for.

Is it harder?

In essence, yes. However, a grade 9 is better than an A*, so a harder exam leads to a more rewarding results set if you work hard. 

Is there A level content in the 9-1 GCSE?

A little bit, but its not going to be too confusing. After all, this is still a GCSE, and not an A level!

How do i find out whats changed?

Give us a call and we will be happy to discuss your options and required learning outcomes.